Page 2 of 3 <123>
Topic Options
#32013 - 07/04/06 09:51 AM Re: Buying Computers and Their Bits
Crankybroad
Gráinne ni Mhaille

Loc: Atlanta, GA

I have a MacBook Pro that I got about 2 weeks ago. While it does get a little warm after a few hours of use - I tend to sit in bed with it propped up on my legs -but not uncomfortably hot.
I am in love with this computer. My school computer is a Dell laptop (I am a teacher and I bring my laptop home but I am not comforable using my school computer for my own internet browsing) and it is great also - but heavy. My husband just got a Sony and it was pricey but a piece of crap. It makes all sorts of weird noises and the sound is horrible. Awful awful awful!!
I have a preference for Macs anyway. This MacBook replaced my old faithful purple iMac I've had since 1998. Still runs beautifully but it is not compatible with the new printers and we just replaced the HP printer we bought when I got the iMac. In 1998. I hope this Mac lasts as long because it was not cheap.

#32014 - 07/13/06 09:42 PM Re: Buying Computers and Their Bits
essay
Ching Shih

I thought about starting a new thread for this topic, but maybe I'll post here for now. I'm wondering if anyone else has had this experience where the new computer turns out not to be quite as user friendly as the old. I bought my new computer a couple of months ago, but am still typing this on the old, as it just feels more comfortable to use, despite the fact that the 'n' key keeps falling off midsentence. I need to switcho over to that one and in fact I often do post from there, but I'm finding switching over completely harder than I thought, despite certain obvious advantages. Anyone else gone through this experience, or am I just odd?
#32015 - 07/13/06 10:58 PM Re: Buying Computers and Their Bits
ken_m
Ching Shih

Quote:
Originally posted by essay: