Page 2 of 11 <12345>Last »
Topic Options
#59784 - 06/29/04 04:47 PM Re: So... what do you do?
ken_m
Ching Shih

I sort of have three jobs. Well, two-and-a-half, I guess. Mainly, I am an assistant professor of computer engineering, which means I teach, do research (in robotics) and pray for tenure. Not necessarily in that order of priority. To tie in with previous posts, I've been doing research lately into robotic/computer-based assistive systems to help the blind. I'm hoping to make the guide dog obselete, but we're not there yet. So far, we have developed a widget (glove) that can guide a wearer's hand to pick up a desired object. If the light is good. And the object is simple in appearance. Some of the time.

In my second job, I do safety reviews of manufacturing cells. Essentially, it's my job to say "No [automaker], you can't have people working here until you [install expensive safety device]". Sometimes they don't like that, I've found. This also means that if, God forbid, there were an accident in a cell I had deemed safe, I would be held legally responsible. Of the two, this job seems more likely to lead to an ulcer.

Finally, sometimes people I've worked with in the past call me up to say "We need X or Y software written. Do you have time?" And, because I've never learned to say no, I wind up writing code sitting on my living room sofa in the evenings. This sort of thing was much easier before I had three rabbits hopping around the living room in the evenings, for reasons that should be obvious.

#59785 - 06/29/04 05:38 PM Re: So... what do you do?
Doppelganger
Ching Shih

Loc: Vancouver, BC

I'm glad to learn that I'm not the only weirdo who likes to talk about their job. Heh.

I don't know why I had this assumption that most people on this site would work in traditional writing and editing professions. This thread is proving me wrong.