Page 4 of 11 « First<23456>Last »
Topic Options
#59804 - 07/02/04 11:30 AM Re: So... what do you do?
cat
Ching Shih

Loc: Northern California

For the next three weeks, I am a food editor for a magazine. I develop recipes, edit and package stories, work with the art department to plan photos, oversee recipe testing, and occasionally write small, sad bits of text like the story I'm currently avoiding by posting here.

After that, I'll be a freelance writer, editor, and (maybe) consultant. Still working in food, just doing it from my home and without a regular paycheck. I do have a regular gig reviewing restaurants, though, and am working on a cookbook. Also, a couple of friends and I are starting up a copywriting and consulting service for food businesses. I figure I'm basically writing marketing-style puff pieces at the magazine anyway, I might as well write actual marketing copy and get paid well for it.

And I'll be working more on writing my novel. At last.

#59805 - 07/02/04 12:26 PM Re: So... what do you do?
sunflow Moderator
Ching Shih

Loc: Brighton, UK

Cat, that all sounds so fabulous. I will miss seeing your byline in the magazine, but it sounds like you're moving on to some wonderful opportunities.

I think you definitely have the yummiest job of any posted so far.

#59806 - 07/02/04 05:34 PM Re: So... what do you do?
SeattleShrew
Ching Shih

Loc: Seattle

Chickliterati are, no surprise, a distinguished lot.

I work for my family's publishing business. We are fairly small, 60 or so titles which constitute about half our sales. The other half is cards and other paper gift products.

Like most people who work in small businesses, I do a wide variety of things. I edit, write copy, go to tradeshows, manage our website and tend our private library of antiquarian children's books and paper ephemera from which we get most of our material. It is a really interesting job, and despite the complications of working with family I quite love it.