Page all of 2 12>
Topic Options
#60055 - 11/27/05 11:29 PM Online Editing/Proofreading
Aprile
Gráinne ni Mhaille

Loc: Ontario, Canada

Hello,

I am working on my BA in English right now and I was wondering if anyone could help me with a step in the right direction to become a proofreader. I was told by a friend that there are a few proofreaders on this site, so I thought I would ask you.

Thank you very much,
Aprile

#60056 - 11/28/05 03:28 PM Re: Online Editing/Proofreading
Bibliophile83
Ching Shih

Loc: lost in a book

I would also like to know about this. I'll be graduating in May, and I need a job!

#60057 - 03/02/06 05:50 PM Re: Online Editing/Proofreading
St. Margaret
Ching Shih

I'm interested, too. I'm an English teacher, but I'm trying to find options in general for work that would be part-time (and, optimally, at-home) when we start a family.
#60058 - 03/03/06 01:50 AM Re: Online Editing/Proofreading
FishDreamer Administrator
Ching Shih

Loc: Windy City USA

I know we have some posts around here about editing and proofreading as a profession - I'm one of the people who made some of them. I can't find particulars at the moment, but I'll dig around over the weekend and see what I can find. In the meantime, take a read through the Job Search Support thread .

Editing is not an easy career to come by right now. It's discouraging, but there you go. I've moved on into process improvement and business management, which I really enjoy. But I keep up some freelance editing on the side because I really love it.

#60059 - 03/03/06 12:38 PM Re: Online Editing/Proofreading
St. Margaret
Ching Shih

Thanks for the lowdown, FishDreamer. This is exactly the inside scoop I need as I plan how I'll survive financially when I have kids! (Part-time teaching sounds better and better!)
#90517 - 01/19/11 03:27 PM Re: Online Editing/Proofreading [Re: St. Margaret]
LaSalleUGirl
Ching Shih

Loc: Philadelphia, PA, USA