Page 1 of 1 1
Topic Options
#82590 - 04/13/07 05:13 PM Online degrees - worth it or worthless?
Amanda the Nasty
Ching Shih

Loc: Salt Lake City, UT

I am seriously considering an online degree program and I'm curious if any of you have received your degree through an online program and if that has been a hindrance to obtaining a job.

Right now I am speaking with AIU Online, but am also considering a degree offered from a brick and mortar school.

Any thoughts or shared experiences would be very appreciated.

#82596 - 04/14/07 01:23 PM Re: Online degrees - worth it or worthless? [Re: Amanda the Nasty]
betsytacy
Ching Shih

Loc: Grayslake, Illinois, USA

Amanda, I worked as a course editor for an online university for several years and have done editorial work for another online university. I don't know how an online degree is perceived on the hiring front, but I can share some insights from my experience on the inside. Most of the instructors and advisers I know from online universities would say that if you have a choice, a bricks-and-mortar university is preferable to an online university. Going the online route may be a good option if you're in a remote area or perhaps have limitations because you work fulltime, but if you have access to a bricks-and-mortar university you should go that route. Online courses can be very effective, but it depends on how much you put into the experience and how adept your instructor is at working in an online environment. Some instructors do a great job of developing their online students into a class community by effective use of bulletin boards and group activities, but other online instructors may leave you feeling isolated and alone. You may also want to look carefully at costs. An online degree may actually turn out to be more expensive than a traditional degree. I hope this gives you a few more factors to weigh.
#82646 - 04/16/07 10:38 AM Re: Online degrees - worth it or worthless? [Re: betsytacy]
Amanda the Nasty
Ching Shih