Page 11 of 11 « First<7891011
Topic Options
#59874 - 08/22/05 11:41 AM Re: So... what do you do?
Anne Wentworth
Ching Shih

Loc: NY, NY

The proofreading gig is intriguing, amateur. I had an aspiring-poet friend from college who did that for a while to give herself time for writing. She mostly worked at night.

I'm currently an editor and writer at a small magazine called RT BOOKclub, a woman's fiction magazine (or, as the tagline reads, the magazine for women who love fiction). I spend about half my time interviewing authors and writing articles and the other half editing copy, mostly reviews. It's interesting, and I've certainly learned a lot from the various authors I've corresponded with. I've made it a point to ask each of them how they sold their first book and what their writing routine is. I've gotten some motivating and enlightening answers.

But it often feels that my real work takes place after I get home. I'm preparing applications for grad programs (MA in 19th century Am/Brit lit) and trying to finish a novel. I don't have much free time.

#59875 - 08/22/05 01:57 PM Re: So... what do you do?
Ekaterina
Ching Shih

Loc: USA

Right now, my summer job is babysitting a 4 month old, a 2 and a 4 year old. None of whom are potty trained. Some days, I only like the baby - at least he has an excuse for crying. Both of the older kids have speech delay, and the 2 year old is being tested for Sensory Integration Disorder soon. They're hard kids, but only two more weeks. And nobody goes to college in diapers, right?

I have one more year left of being a student, during which time I don't have a job so I can concentrate on my schoolwork. In a year, though, I hope to have graduated with a degree in Global Studies, minor in Learning Disability Advocacy, and get a job as a disability advocate. I've had an internship in the field already, and I love it.